top of page
Writer's pictureDorsa Sajedi

Robyn's Doc Tutorial #7

ROLES:

Robyn: Director

Abigail: Cinematographer

Dori: Producer

Bronte: Editor

Kate: Sound


Date: 29/11/21


Tutor: Sana


MAIN POINTS DISCUSSED AT TUTORIAL:


In this tutorial we viewed the rough cut of the edit so far and provided our editor feedback. The main issue was that the chosen sections of the interviews were not interesting, and the focus was far too heavily on the interview content rather than the visual strengths of the piece. Because of this, we have directed our editor to focus on the visuals, in order to identify the strengths of the footage that we have, and to THEN incorporate sound.


An issue that we ran into with our footage is that one of our entire interviews cannot be used due to lack of sound. Sound was both recorded on a zoom recorder and via our cinematographer's LAV mic. But due to limited crew on set (as mentioned in earlier posts, for Chloe's comfort), a lot of things went wrong. Rushes were not done properly, clapperboards were not used, equipment was not checked. Thus, the sound that we did have for the interview, sounded like static, and the sound recorded on the zoom recorders were not backed up and thus lost. This has been a learning experience for me as I understand how necessary it is for at least an additional member to be on set to make sure these things are not missed.


I feel that I have failed to enforce the personal deadlines I set for my group, and perhaps I should have set them earlier as soon as we completed production (as we only started seeing progress and noticing these issues half a month after production).


ACTION PLAN WITH PROPOSED DATES:


To make up for these issues, I will be entering the editing suite to check up on our editor as I know they are struggling. (I will make a future post about this to report what I helped with and how I helped)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page