top of page
Writer's pictureDorsa Sajedi

Editing Class 8: Workflow

Transferring data & Doing Rushes

Number 5 is something that I've been hearing a lot at the moment, especially after doing my case study for my Work Related Learning in Film module. Having knowledge of several Adobe programs, they all seem to follow a similar template - I'll need to get the hang of Premiere nevertheless.

Being the script supervisor on the set of For Crimes Forgotten (as we don't have a DIT, and I'm also the editor), I will be taking the rushes for each of our shoot dates. I did the same last year for Old Friends, and it was a little confusing to say the least - trying to make several copies of everything on Finder, constantly second guessing as to whether I had already copied some files over or not... yikes. I'd like to avoid as much of that as possible, so I looked into the programs listed in the screenshot above while also doing my own research (to which I found a helpful webpage on the matter).


A checksum copy will first copy the files over, and then do a verification to see if the copy is complete and error-free. (...) DaVinci Resolve has a built-in checksum copy function which means that you can do it for free. Adobe has one too if you subscribe to their full suite.

A 30-day project license for Hedge is £45.84, and the other options are increasingly expensive - which for a student production isn't ideal. But, I do have access to the full Adobe programs and DaVinci, now it's just figuring out which one would be best. After a little bit of searching on reddit threads, there seems to be a higher liking towards Davinci.


QUICK SUMMARY/GUIDE

  • Clone tool is in the media tab next to media storage

  • Click 'add job' in the clone tool tab

  • You drag your location and destination folder(s) onto Davinci from Davinci

  • Press 'clone' and wait for it to be done

  • It'll say 'completed' in green if all has gone well, if not and something has happened to the Checksum, it'll let you know.

Transcodes should be determined by budget, drives available, who is looking at the footage when and how the edit workflow will function. As close to the original as budget, drive space and computing power allows, as often you will be exporting work in progress and it pays for it to look good.

In professional practice, both sound & camera should be passing on files that are labelled with scene and slate, etc.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page