top of page
Writer's pictureDorsa Sajedi

CHLOE: Helping in the Edit

Updated: Dec 7, 2021

I was summoned by the editor of our group to provide some support on the parts of the edit that she was struggling with. By the end of the 7 hours in the editing suite, we finally got somewhere and it was a good start! I will discuss my contributions now.

I have attached a copy of the draft to which I helped with below:

Edit: I know this isn't perfect, I just wanted to make clear what my contributions were :)

Firstly, after watching our editor's previous drafts, I wanted to identify those strengths and keep them in (this being the parts on David Bowie and how Chloe identifies with their gender expression). The final segment, of her getting into character/costume, the director and I both agreed on (in a previous tutorial) how it would be nice to see this happen throughout the course of the film and to then have her in costume at the end. In our editor’s previous drafts, the final segment was intercut with some of Chloe’s TikTok’s of her in costume - I liked this, and thought it was a good idea, so we decided to keep it in. For the first segment, we picked out a few more shots of b-roll that we had and got selective with the ones we felt did not really ‘represent’ Chloe’s personality, such as a shot of glasses - which doesn’t really seem relevant. BUT, a shot of a poster and a shot of some peculiar not-your-every-day earrings is, in my opinion, a good way to start! We figured out the rhythm of these shots the best we could, as we weren’t sure what would go on-top sound-wise, but this wasn’t our priority at the time — following our lecturer’s feedback that we should prioritise visuals first, and then progress to sound. In doing so, I turned around to our editor in shock, and asked her if we even got a voice message or a segment of the interview where Chloe introduces herself… and the answer was no (to which, I’m not sure how this even happened because I believe we all presumed that such a thing would be a priority for the first shooting day… nevertheless).

As an idea, for both the first and final section, we considered music, so we got in touch with our sound editor/recordist and asked them to send over a few songs which the editor selected two from, and I had a go with both. It definitely worked well because it adds so much more personality and gets across that ‘fun’ and ‘colourful’ Chloe which we wanted! Other than this, another thing that the editor was struggling with, was making sure Chloe’s dialogue wasn’t repetitive/boring, but to also allowing breathing space. I worked some magic and helped cut down the necessary bits! Although I didn’t plan on being in the editing suite for this long today (it was supposed to be 30 minutes just to check in haha), it was fun, and I’m glad we’re in a more confident place with the edit.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page